Hi Everyone!
Another update on my wonderful Disney life. I actually have had a lot to say over the past week but just keep forgetting to actually write in the blog. I just got home from work about an hour or so ago and I'm laying on the couch watching the Luge so I figured now would be a good time.
So this past week I've been doing a lot of working but also getting to do some fun stuff. On Tuesday (2.9.10) I got to work and it turned out our entire computer reservation system was down. Actually, the resort wide reservation system had completely shut down. Now, for most companies, nothing could get done without the computer which makes me realize that Disney is truly in a category of its own. They had such an amazing handwritten system check guests in and get them tickets and do pretty much everything they needed without any real disruption to them. It was pretty incredible. And to make it even better, our big boss manager (the manager of the whole front office) Michelle, had decided by chance to spend that day in costume seeing the operation from our level. It was quite funny to see her out on the floor with her "earning my ears" ribbon. I love Michelle. She's so friendly and open to listening to you and your problems and really never makes you feel like she's above you unless she has to. At around 2 the system was finally up and running and everything was back to normal. And then the managers bought us pizza to thank us for making everything go so smoothly.
When work was over, I went downstairs and changed into "normal people clothes" and took the Downtown Disney bus to meet Ren for La Nouba!!! I got very, very discounted tickets from my managers for product knowledge so I can convince other guests to go and see it and tell them how awesome it is. So after grabbing a really delicious sandwich and the Earl of Sandwich for dinner, I met Ren (I got 2 tickets so she came with me) and we went to La Nouba. It was absolutely incredible! If you ever get the chance to see it, Go! It's such an amazing show which and I loved it. My favorite part by far were the little Chinese girls playing with the Diabolo. They can't be more than 8 years old and they are unbelievably talented. So yeah...go see it. You'll love it.
Lets see...more fun stuff. Well, on Friday (2.12.10) Larry and Donna and the munchkins came down to Florida for vacation and I got to see them. I spent most of the day bumming around the apartment since I hadn't had a day off in 9 days but I met them all for Mariel's birthday dinner at Jiko in Animal Kingdom Lodge. It was delicious! I wasn't sure how much I was going to like it because I generally don't love African/Indian foods like curry and such but everything was phenomenal. I had lamb chops with cous-cous and a curry sauce that was so good and we had an olive and goat cheese flat bread pizza which I could have eaten as my meal I loved it so much. I highly recommend it if you want to spend the money. I also got to hang out with the munchkins and family on Sat (2.13.10) since I had off. So they picked me up around 10 and we went to Animal Kingdom for the day. It was a lot of fun although slightly cold during the morning. We went on pretty much everything including It's Tough to be a Bug which which broke down while we were there. While we were watching the show, Hopper never sprung out of the ground so they stopped the show and started it again and when they did neither Hopper nor Flik came out so they actually made it worse. It was still a fun show none the less. And I talked to this adorable 3 year old girl named Sydney for like a half hour while we were waiting for Finding Nemo: The Musical. She was so cute and telling me all about how she was going to have lunch with the princesses and how she was Belle for Halloween. It was really adorable. After we decided to leave the park we went back to Larry and Donna's timeshare so Donna could change and went to Planet Hollywood in Downtown Disney for dinner. There was a long wait for dinner so we walked around the shops and then finally got our table and had dinner. I had a Spinach salad which was really, really delicious. Then we went and got caramel apples from Candy Cauldron for dessert.
So today, well I guess yesterday was Valentine's Day. Now in the world of hotels, that means lots and lots of flowers being delivered to rooms, lots of check-ins and just lots of people. But honestly, it really wasn't that bad. I worked all day in the Vacation Club Villas so that made it slower then if I was working in the actual hotel part. And, to make Valentines day very cute, the boy across the hall left us a cake, flowers (well actually the flowers were from a few days ago) and a card with a poem in it on our doorstep. It was adorable of them. Both apartments like to leave gifts at the others doorstep, knock and run away. The funniest thing is that we haven't even really met all of them. Everything we sign is from "The Girls" and they are "The Boys". We've vowed to finally try and all hang out together so we can meet each other formally. It should be fun.
Other than that, I don't have to much to say. Mom and Dad and Allie come on Tuesday and I can't wait to see them!!! I should probably go to sleep now though considering it's 1:30AM. But until next time...
Love,
Jess